Also see: Frequently Asked Questions



  RCIA-First-Step     How to take the first step


Contact any Roman Catholic Church and ask to speak to the person in charge of those who wish to become Catholic. Either you will be given a name and phone number and asked to call the person, or your name and phone number will be taken and someone will call you. During the phone call with the RCIA Coordinator (the person in charge of those who wish to become Catholic) your questions will be answered and an appointment time will be set up for you to meet face-to-face with the coordinator. Also you will be given the times and dates for the RCIA sessions.



RCIA (or the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults) consists of the following four stages:








This is also called Inquiry, and is a time for questions and instruction to the gospel values and an opportunity for the beginnings of faith. The goal of this period is awakening faith.


This period lasts from 8 weeks to 3 years depending on the needs of the individual.









    The Catechumenate


The Catechumenate is a period of nurturing and continued growth of faith. A large component of this period is attending mass and “breaking open the word” by delving deeper into the meaning(s) of the gospel in our lives today. The goal of this period is deepening initial conversion and passing on the Catholic tradition.
A period from 6 months to 3 years depending on the needs of the individual.






    Purification and Enlightenment


This step, which takes place during Lent, is a period of intense reflection on our lives and our conversion.  A time of intense prayer and final preparation for the celebration of the sacraments. The goal of this period is to eliminate what is weak and affirm what is holy.
This period generally consists of the 6 weeks of Lent, but may be changed to accommodate individual needs.


  Baptism     Mystagogy


This period follows full initiation into the church and is marked by full participation in the life of the church. It lasts until the end of life. We must continue to learn and to grow in our faith, and we must continue to be active.The goal of this period is deeper understanding of the paschal mystery through Eucharist, Gospel, ministry and mission.
Although this period lasts until the end of one’s life, it officially lasts one year from the reception of the Sacraments of Initiation.


Bright Lights1

    Each of these four phrases is marked by distinct liturgical celebrations which take place in the midst of the Church Assembly.






Print This Page Print This Page