Student Scholarships




Growing Faith through Student Scholarship

To Teach as Jesus Did (1972) called on the entire Christian community
to make a "generous effort" to support parents in educating their children
and communicating the faith and to provide education

Scholarships for Catholic Students

The purpose of SEEDS Growing Faith through Student Scholarships is to help children from families of all socio-economic backgrounds to have the opportunity of a Catholic education.


In 1983, Sr. Sebastian Adza, CSC, helped establish CHOICES, a scholarship fund to help needy students. At that time, Choices distributed about $30,000 annually to scholarship applicants. The average grant was small due to the limited scholarship money and the large number of applicants.


With Bishop Stephen Blaire's support, CHOICES was transformed to an irrevocable trust with only the earnings being used for scholarships. Bishop Blaire created ACE, later called SEEDS, to raise money and distribute scholarships annually. In 2005, Bishop Blaire committed to giving one-half of the proceeds of the annual Bishop's Award Dinner to SEEDS. The Church for Tommorrow capital campaign raised additional funds whose interest is distributed annually as scholarships.


The first allocation of SEEDS in 2005 was $54,000 distributed to 46 students in eligible families. For 2016-17, SEEDS is distributing $250,000 to 268 students from 202 families.


Families interested in applying for SEEDS Scholarships should contact the school where they register their child(ren) and follow the application process as outlined by the school. Applications are accepted from January 1st through April 15th for the following school year. Families are notified in May if they qualify for a SEEDS Scholarship for the next school year.


For more information about the Adopt-A-Student program or to make donation to SEEDS, please call (209) 466-0636 or download and complete the General Donation Form. Donations can be mailed to:



c/o Office of Development & Stewardship
Diocese of Stockton
212 N. San Joaquin Street
Stockton, CA 95202–2409


Sr. Abby Newton, OP, President
Kathy Etchebarne, Vice President
Rudy Croce, Treasurer
Jeanette Gerlomes, Secretary
Julie Abate
Christie Banuelos
Sarah Brooks























Print This Page Print This Page